Arduino Project: 5×5 Led Matrix

After completing some basic Arduino starter circuits I tried a slightly more involved build.I used an instructable guide to build a 5×5 LED matrix display, link here:

http://www.instructables.com/id/Yet-Another-Daft-Punk-Coffee-TableDisplay/

I got some foam board from Hobbycraft, wire from Halfords and some 100ohm resistors and 25 LEDs  from eBay. The build took about half a day.

IMG_4802

I first assembled the box from foam board. I then cut slits in the back and inserted the LEDs into the back.

IMG_4800

I then cross soldered the LEDs together as per the instructions to create a sort of grid. I then plugged in the led network into the Arduino and downloaded the code from the instructions.

IMG_4804
IMG_4806 IMG_4807

I found a few dodgy connections which I fixed. I also found that all the LEDs would all come on at once leading to the Arduino getting pretty hot. I quickly disconnected it and re built the breadboard section. This time it worked and began to cycle through its animations. I played around with the code to get it to spell my name and make other custom shapes. I am still a bit baffled by the coding language of Arduinos but it is a start! A fun little build in all. I hope to take what I have learned here and use it on future projects.

IMG_5397

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

